One Year of Photography

I’ve had my DLSR (a Canon 60D) for one year now. Time flies!

This is one of the first pictures I took, taken on the 19th April 2013:

IMG_0407-1

IQ laundry room

Pretty terrible, I admit…

The next shot was taken shortly after starting photography as a hobby. It’s not the greatest or the most interesting photo, but it was the first picture I took that looked exactly as I saw it in my mind.

This was taken on the 7th of June 2013 at Bala Lake, Wales:

130707 Bala Camping 415

Bala Lake, Wales

 

Both of the above were taken with the only lens I had at the time: the Nifty Fifty, Canon 50mm f1.8. It’s cheap but has impressive image quality. The second photo was actually taken in near darkness. It was a 15 second exposure.


 

Around the beginning of November I bought a film camera for £29.99. A Yashica Minister III:

IMG_6715_DxOFP-Crop-Small

Yashica Minister III

I took many photos with the little wonder with a mixture of Ilford HP5+ and Kodak Tri-X both pushed between stock ASA and 1600 ASA (and a couple all the way to 3200 ASA):

20131128---20131203-FILM_ROLL#5_SHOT#18_Sharpened

A cloudy sky in Salford

20131128 - 20131203-FILM_ROLL#5_SHOT#25

MediaCity Docks

20131127-FILM_ROLL#4_SHOT#34

Stranger at a train station, I think (I actually can’t remember)

20131127-FILM_ROLL#4_SHOT#31

Stranger trying on some make up in Manchester

20131127-FILM_ROLL#4_SHOT#24

An office building in Manchester

20131127-FILM_ROLL#4_SHOT#17

Another building in Manchester (I like buildings)

20131112-FILM_ROLL#1_SHOT#18

Manchester

20131112-FILM_ROLL#1_SHOT#22

Manchester

Unfortunately, my little Yashica broke! So I went back to digital for a little while.


 

Here’s one of my most recent photos:

IMG_6891

Salford Lamppost

I took this at the end of March while wondering back from town (I think).

And this is the latest photo I uploaded to my Flickr:

Moon

Moon

I’m now on the hunt for a new film camera because I’ve missed it so much and I want to shoot some film at my brother’s wedding!


 

Looking back, I feel like I’ve improved a lot of the year and I can’t wait to see if I’ve improved as much next year.

All (most) of these photos can be found on my Flickr, follow me!

Feel free to leave a comment

